poster for event


Occurs on Friday August 6 2021

Approximate running time: 1 hour and 30 minutes


Firehall Arts Centre
280 East Cordova Street
Vancouver BC V6A 1L3

Production Notes


Friday, August 6, 7 pm Microcosmos String Quartet Masterworks: Franz Schubert’s Death and the Maiden and Thomas Adès’ Arcadiana.

Marc Destrubé: violin Andrea Siradze: violin Tawnya Popoff: viola Rebecca Wenham: cello

Microcosmos, formed in Vancouver in 2010, performs from the rich string quartet repertoire written in the past 100 years. They harness the intimacy of a string quartet to present some of the greatest music of the 20th and 21st centuries. Aside from the quartet's 'house' concerts, they have been guests on series such as Music on Main’s lauded ‘Cellar’ series, Vancouver Pro Musica’s ‘Further’ Series, and ‘Speaking in Ligeti,’ a collaboration with MMHop Productions and four dancers that toured to Halifax and Ottawa. “thank you for learning and programming these wonderful pieces! It is truly wonderful to be able to communicate the beauty and excitement of these pieces at all” (Martin Reisle, composer)

Patrons are limited 10 tickets per show. No resale. Masks are recommended. The lobby will open 30 minutes prior to showtime.

Buy To This Event Directions